2014 Winners

The Awards Ceremony is our way of honoring and celebrating exceptional achievement by individuals, institutions, organizations, and businesses that have made outstanding contributions to the preservation of Rockville’s historic and/or architectural character through projects, activities or programs.  This year’s winners were:

  • The Sullivan Family, for stewardship and landscaping at 16 Thomas Street;


    The Sullivan Family accepts their award

  • Sara Kiesler, Homeowner; Jeff Broadhurst and Hisao Yatsuhashi, Architects; O’Neill Development, Contractors; and Neil Mozer, window restoration craftsman, for excellence in ownership and architecture, for directions and decision made during the rehabilitation and renovation of 103 Forest Avenue;
  • The Montgomery County Department of General Services, Division of Building Design and Construction; Dewberry Architects, and Dustin Construction, for outstanding modernist design and construction of the new Travilah Fire Station #32 at the corner of Shady Grove Road and Darnestown Road;
  • David Peabody, Architect, and O’Neill Development, General Contractor, for the vision, design and construction of the “Green” and compatible new house at 214 Harrison Street;
  • Mary’s Bicentennial Celebration Committee, for the year-long sponsorship of educational events open to the public to celebrate St. Mary’s Bicentennial at their location at 520 Veirs Mill Road;


    The St. Mary’s Bicentennial Committee

  • Ida Wallenmeyer, Patricia Neame, and Rose Sharkey, for excellence in educational outreach and volunteering to restore the interpretive medicinal Dr. Stonestreet’s Garden at the Beall–Dawson House at 103 West Montgomery Avenue (Montgomery County Historical Society);


    The winners for Dr. Stonestreet’s Medicinal Garden

  • Federal Realty Investment Trust, for fostering community involvement and city identity with on-going and creative programming at the Rockville Town Square;
  • Rockville Bike Advisory Committee, for outstanding achievement in volunteering and incorporating Rockville’s historic sites into multiple guided bicycle trips; and,
  • Howard Katz of Streetscape Partners, Developers; Hank Handler of Oak Grove Restoration, Restoration Contractor; and, Andrew Berman and Kristina Berdan for stewardship and restoration of the historic Rose Hill Barn and Dairy at 127 Bullard Circle.

Our 2014 Awards winners filled the courthouse with energy and enthusiasm



One Response to 2014 Winners

  1. Pingback: Peerless Rockville’s 2014 Awards and Open House | Peerless Rockville

Comments are closed.